17
May
12

R.I.P. DONNA SUMMER “THE QUEEN OF DISCO.” DEAD AT THE AGE OF 63.


 

It has been said that disco died on Thursday, July 12, 1979, at Comiskey Park in Chicago, Illinois. To me that is NOT the day disco died. The day disco died is Thursday May 17, 2012.  It has been reported by TMZ that disco legend Donna Summer died this morning at the age of 63 after a battle with cancer. Summer achieved stardom with such singles as “I Feel Love,” “Love to Love You Baby”, “Last Dance”, “Hot Stuff”, and “She Works Hard for the Money”.

Personally I think Donna Summer achieved stardom with all her music. There was no way anybody could not like any of her songs. Myself I enjoyed them all. She died at so young an age, only sixty-three years old.

We think at times that famous people live forever. But reality kicks in and a person would pass away. And the shock of the news of a disco legend dies shocks us all. I remember as a young child hearing all her songs on the radio. “I Feel Love,” “Love to Love You Baby”, “Last Dance”, “Hot Stuff”, and so on.

The song “Love to Love You Baby” I never did understand as a young child, but I just loved the song. But as I got older and realized what is was about, my first thought as was “Oh shit! It was about sex and getting your rocks off!” Oh the wonders and joy of a catholic school education. For as a kid they when through great lengths not to tell you about sex. It was “evil” and would send you to hell. The had told us.

But Donna Summer was not just about nasty, freaky disco sex songs. She made great music and had a fantastic talent. She set the bar for entertainment back in the days, “disco” you can say was her middle name.

Every song I hear from her reminds me of my childhood and the 70’s. I was just a kid, a small child way to young to go to a disco. But her music does bring back good memories for me.

She was a true star with major talent. She made a name for herself, she was a true icon. Born on December 31, 1948  and died on May 17, 2012. Way to young I feel. She will never be forgotten for disco is Donna Summer.

“Someone left a cake out in the rain.” A song lyric that anyone could instantly tell you who said it.

As a tribute to Donna Summer maybe I should be that “someone” who puts “a cake out in the rain.” Maybe we all can do that as a tribute?

Rest in peace Donna Summer, you will be missed but never forgotten. For you music was not just greatest hits they were anthems.

 

 

 

 

0 Responses to “R.I.P. DONNA SUMMER “THE QUEEN OF DISCO.” DEAD AT THE AGE OF 63.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,467 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

