22
Feb
12

FLATLINE… THE STROKE CHRONICLES. (NEVER SAY THE “S” WORD.)


Flatline… The Stroke Chronicles.

“Where others will not cross the line, the line is where I begin and cross over to start my journey.” 

NEVER SAY THE “S” WORD.:

I know it’s been a while since my last stroke chronicle entry. I guess I needed some time to discover and put together this post.

But I have discovered something new. Sad… But all true. And that is people do treat you differently when you have  a stroke. In some ways it’s kindness, like for example. Getting onto a New York City subway train packed with people during rush hour and some total stranger gives up their seat for you.

Granted… I don’t always take the seat, not that it’s a matter of pride. Just that there are times that I rather just stand. To all the total strangers that have done so, I say “thank you” to you all. 🙂

But the other truth that I want to talk about is the darker side.

That “dark side” is how some people not all granted… Just some people… Treat others.

And that side is more like ” I can’t be bothered with you and you are not worth my time.” or ” You are a problem to society since you can’t seem to function.”

Racist maybe? Could be… Or maybe ignorance? I really don’t ponder it myself.

But I have found it odd that people’s attitudes do change when they find out I had a stroke. In some cases it a “fake sorrow” of them saying for example “Oh… I am so sorry to hear that.” ore them trying to pretend that they do not see you. Like one woman who I know whose name is Miss Cox. (Yes… this is her brief moment of shame here… :-()

But it does happen oddly enough. Granted… If people ask me what happened to my right leg (since I do have to use a cane at times to walk around…) and I say. “I was in an accident a short while back.” Then their attitudes seem much better to me.

None of that fake bull shit sorrow or trying to find a way to end a conversation quickly. Granted I am NOT looking for anyones pity or sorrow. Just show me some god dam respect! After all I was just like you before this all happened.

But oddly enough it does happen. Mind you there are times I will have a total stranger just walk up to me and say a few supportive works, and that does put a smile on my face from time to time. I mean think about it… Someone who I never meet, will never see again and does not know anything about me. Who just walks up to me during my travels and will just say a few nice words.

I find it odd in all honesty. But at the same time comforting. For there are times that one does need support in all that  they do in life.

But the oddest thing about it all is the fact that if I never mention the words ” I had a stroke.” or As I jokingly say “The S word.” Then I am treated like a normal person and not some form of burden on society. And to be totally honest here, I just find the whole experience odd for a person’s attitude can simple change just based on ones temporary health condition or situation.

I mean… God forbid it should happen to them. Then again what is that old saying?

“Karma is a bitch.” 

Have we as a society have put so much on looks and great health that we all have forgotten the less fortunate, or those that are just going through a bad period with their health, that may only be temporary and not permanent? I think we all really have to wonder about this.

Granted… This post is not a rant. If anything I am just trying to bring to light what has been kept in the dark.

Thank about it people. You really need to.

0 Responses to “FLATLINE… THE STROKE CHRONICLES. (NEVER SAY THE “S” WORD.)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,468 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

February 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
26272829  

