12
Jul
11

MANHATTANHENGE


If you are wondering what exactly is “Manhattanhenge.” Here is the meaning via Wikipedia.

Manhattanhenge – sometimes referred to as the Manhattan Solstice – is a semiannual occurrence in which the setting sun aligns with the east–west streets of the main street grid in the borough of Manhattan in New York City. The term is derived from Stonehenge, at which the sun aligns with the stones on the solstices. It was popularized in 2002 by Neil deGrasse Tyson, an astrophysicist at the American Museum of Natural History.

Well tonight I was able to take photos of the event. I did have fun running into the city to do so, not to mention the fact that I had to get onto the Park Avenue bridge in order to take these photos. Granted… The bridge is NOT to be used by people to walk on. But I did get on so I can get what I think are some very good photos of the event.

Below are some of the photos that I have taken.

Now I know that I seem pretty high up over 42nd Street. But like I mentioned before I was on the Park Avenue bridge in order to take these photos. Granted… The bridge is not to be used by people to walk on, only for general traffic. The next set of photos will give you an idea as to where I was while taking these shots.

Yes… There was a crowd for the event. 🙂

This photo above was taken after the crowd had left the area.

And the photo below is of the bridge at street level.

Yea… One wrong step to far back and I would have gotten hit by a passing taxi. But it was worth it. “The things I do for photography.” You just have to love doing such things just to get the perfect shot at times. But I will say that it was worth doing so.

0 Responses to “MANHATTANHENGE”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,467 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

