11
Nov
10

THE ING NEW YORK CITY MARATHON.


The New York City marathon is one of the many events in New York that I enjoy checking out. I did not check it out last year for I was helping a very good friend of mine pack for his move to Uganda Africa. Since he needed help packing for his move I really did not mind missing the event last year.

For there is always the next year to check it out again, and that is what I did this time around. I had spent the week before preparing to photograph the event by checking my camera equipment and of course making sure that my batteries were fully charged for, one thing I hate to do is replace batteries in the middle of photographing an event.

Matter of fact I had to do so during the Halloween parade. So I made it a point to make sure that I did not have to do it again this time around. And of course I had to find out what the weather was going to be like this past Sunday, for I was planning to wake up early that day to start getting ready for the event.

I woke up at six in the morning and that was a challenge to do for the night before I was up very late talking to an old friend of mines on the phone as well since I am not currently working and receiving unemployment it has been a while since I have woken up that early. For when I was working I use to wake up at that time to get ready for work, the only thing that was in my favor was the fact that the clocks were turned back an hour that weekend so it did somewhat give me an extra hour to sleep.

Once I was fully ready I walked over to the area that I wanted to be at for the marathon, it was a nice walk and actually I do enjoy long walks. The air was cool and crisp that morning and traffic was minimal due to the marathon so some streets were closed to cars and traffic.

Once I was there I found what I thought was a good location to photograph the marathon. One of the first things that I have noticed once I was there was the fact that the barricades normally used to prevent people from entering the street as the runners were going by were not there. I think the lack of the barricades was due to budget cuts the city has made over the past year. But it did not seem to affect the runners going by.

One thing I will say about photographing the marathon is that it was like trying to take photos of a herd of wild animals running directly at you in a stampede. It was a challenge but a good challenge, granted if I was taking photos of wild animals in a stampede I think I would just run for the hills to safety. I will leave photographing wild animals to the experts. And trust me that comment I made was a complement to people who do just that for a living.

Here are the photos that I have taken of the marathon, so if you miss the event this will be the next best thing to being there.

0 Responses to “THE ING NEW YORK CITY MARATHON.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,455 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

