03
Nov
10

SMOKESTACK


Introduction:

One of the funny things about photography I find is the fact that a person such as myself can take many photos and not post them online right away, or in some cases not at all. This is one of those moments. Back in September I had taken some photos of a giant smokestack that was located in a power plant in DUMBO Brooklyn.

It was a huge structure, very tall and somewhat majestic you can say. The height of it was one of the reasons I had taken the photo of it. Once I had gotten home and have taken the time to review the photos I was very happy with the results.

For the lighting was just before sunset that day and it really brought out the colors in the photograph. Deeper blues, brighter orange and even a passionate gray tone as well. The black and white photos that I have taken too came out with such intensity.

No editing at all was done to the photos. This is in its raw form you can say. The bright colors were due to the chrome film setting I used on my digital camera and the others were done in standard black and white with no post edit as well.

But the colors of each of the photos are the main reason I wanted to post and share this. For I think it could never be produced again even if I tried. And unlike writing a book or making a film, in photography you have only one chance to take a perfect photo. There is no edit or do over, for once the moment is gone it is gone forever.

For what it’s worth, I do like the images below and glad that I was finally able to post them.

 

*Any and all images for the “Smokestack” project have been copyrighted with the United States copyright office. http://www.copyright.gov/

 

©

©

©

©

 

0 Responses to “SMOKESTACK”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,467 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

