14
Sep
10

SORRY, I DON’T THINK WE ARE A MATCH.


Over the later part of my Labor Day holiday weekend I had met a guy online. The conversation via e-mail went well and so did our phone calls. And after sometime we had decided to actually meet for a late night date. Now as we all know meeting someone is like a baseball game.

First base is the on-line e-mail one gets, second base is the exchange of phone numbers, third base is meeting and home plate. Well… that depends on the moment. But we all have to admit that we hope for a “home run.”

Overall I would have to say that the person that I have met only got to third base. Once meeting and spending some time together I had felt that he was just not the right person for me to date. I have thought it over and thought that maybe I am being to “picky” and setting my standards to high. But in all honesty that is really not the case.

For I felt that the vibe in person when we meet was just not right for me. I found them to be a little loud and boisterous for me. The funny thing about discovering this was the fact that I did not pick up on any of this during our initial e-mails and phone calls. Now granted the first date was not that bad at all but I really don’t think there will be a second date. Only because of their personality and them being a loud person in the way they carry themselves. And even the phone calls that I have gotten after our first date were different.

I had started to notice the boisterous attitude on the phone as well. Was I that excited on meeting a person that I would not even notice such a thing the first phone call? Now don’t get me wrong he was a nice person and would make a great catch for someone else, just not me.

I just find it funny how a person can come off so well during a phone call and then turn into something different when seen in person. I thought about keeping contact with them as a friend, but even a part of me says “don’t” so I plan to follow my gut on this one and not go any further. I actually went as far as to delete all text messages and his call history from my Blackberry to make sure I don’t call him again. If he calls me I will just let it go to voice mail.

Expectations in life I found can be one thing in a person’s mind and totally different in reality. To be honest my expectations were not really that high for if anything I was just hoping for a nice time on a date, and actually I had gotten that.

But I don’t think it’s worth a second date. I see it like this… If after a date you do not have a feeling of “wow” then it’s not worth a round two, at least I think so. Overall I would describe my date as being a feeling of “oh well, better luck next time.”

Plus I am not in a rush to get involved with anyone right away, if it happens it happens. And if not that is not a problem with me as well. Meeting a person and dating them all takes time and I plan to take all the time I need, no rush at all. With that said I wonder who next is going to step up to “home plate” in the baseball game of life and try to hit a home run with me.

0 Responses to “SORRY, I DON’T THINK WE ARE A MATCH.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,455 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

