15
Aug
10

MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE.


As of yesterday August 14, 2010 at 2:45 p.m. I did something that I always wanted to do as a child. And that was put a note into a plastic bottle, drop it into a river and see if any one finds it and e-mails me back the details as to where they found it.

It was nothing elaborate, all I used was an old Gatorade bottle with the product label taken off and inside of the bottle was an envelope that says on it “message in a bottle.” The fact that the bottle was clear plastic someone should be able to see the envelope very easily inside.

Inside the envelope was a small note with the date and location of when the bottle was sent off, along with my e-mail address and a business card that promotes my blog website address. And of course a request to whoever finds it to e-mail me and let me know where they found it.

The bottle was closed tightly and sealed with brown plastic packing tape for good measure. Once it was all packed and ready I had gone to the water front in DUMBO Brooklyn, between the Brooklyn and Manhattan bridges and tossed it in.

The conditions I thought were perfect for the launch, great weather and the currents from the East River were very strong. Once it was tossed into the water I watched it float away. For a moment I thought it was going to drift back to me, but that was not the case.

The current from the river did catch the bottle and sent it drifting deeper into the East River. From there it started to go south as it got smaller and harder to see, my last view of it was in the middle of the river heading towards the Brooklyn Bridge and off to New York harbor it seems.

There were quite a few boats in the water as well yesterday and the wake from the passing boats I have noticed did help the bottle along in its journey. Then I totally lost view of the bottle, but I know that it is out there and on its way somewhere.

Where will it end up I am not sure, but I am interested in finding out once someone finds it. I was happy to see it go on its way. But at the same time sad for I felt that I part of me has gone too. I know it sounds odd to say that. And I guess it’s because I will never see the bottle again and I know that it is now traveling somewhere.

I love to travel personally myself, and I guess at one point I had wished it was me floating away. But for now this will have to be the next best thing. But the one fact still remains that I finally lived out a childhood dream and sent my bottle on its merry little way, and that alone made me very happy.

Now I know it’s going to take some time before I find out where it was found. Or I may never know what happened to it. It just might get lost at sea or ended up getting stuck some place where no one will be able to find it. Only time and luck will tell what is going to happen.

But I have to admit that I am very curious to find out where it will end up. The longer the travel the better I think and I do hope that it travels very far. With my luck it will just end up on the jersey shore, but on this trip I really do hope it goes farther than Jersey.

Once I do find out where it ended up I will post those details. But for now the journey has just begun and I can only imagine where it will be traveling to.

1 Response to “MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE.”


  1. August 15, 2010 at 1:48 PM

    Can’t wait to hear where it ends up!
    I’ve always wanted to do something like this, but with a bunch of balloons, so I understand the appeal of living out a childhood fantasy haha

    – Calhoun

    http://selfproclaimedmegalomaniac.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,455 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

