11
Aug
10

MISSING IN ACTION.


Some time ago I had placed a post about two good friends that both live out-of-state, one in North Carolina and the other lives in Pennsylvania. And how they both lost their jobs on the same week, recently I have discovered that my friend in North Carolina has found a new job and is currently working once again.

Now in this bad economy he was very lucky to find new employment very quickly. From the time he lost his job to the time he found one was about two weeks, to that I say “good for you.” And when I was told the news that he did find work I was very happy for him.

Now my friend in Pennsylvania… That seems to be a different story for him. He lost his job of twenty-four years and after last speaking to him about three weeks ago, I have not heard from him since. I have made several calls to check up on him and see how he is doing. But I am not getting any return call back.

I have left voice mail messages in the past and my friend does call me back, maybe not right away, but in a day or two. But this time around I have not gotten any call back. And now I am starting to wonder if he is o-kay and doing fine, or if he is having any difficulty.

My friend in Pennsylvania is a very private person and is not one for drama in his life. So I guess it’s safe to say that he is taking the time to refocus and regroup. But I do wish that I would get a call back from him just to hear his voice and see how he is doing. It’s almost as if he dropped off the face of the Earth.

My other friends say that I should keep calling or even text him until I get some sort of reply. But this time I think I will keep my distance and wait for my friend to come around and reach out to me. Now I know that may sound cruel, but think about it. Someone just lost their job of twenty-four years and needs time to think things out and plan what they are going to do next.

This is a major adjustment that he is going through at the moment, and he does need time to think things over. And I am sure if he had any questions about being unemployed he would ask me about it, for he knows that I have been out of work for some time now.

Or I would like to think that he would call me, let’s be honest here. For most people losing their job it can feel like an embarrassment to them, and they might not want to talk about it right away. It’s almost like mourning a death in the family. You might want to seek comfort via other people or just deal with the matter by yourself.

Knowing my friend he is using the time to deal with this in his own way and by himself. I have known him for ten years now and I feel that he just might be dealing with this in the best way he can at the moment. Now granted there is nothing wrong with that, but I feel that one needs to at least reach out just to say “I am doing fine and doing the best that I can at the moment.”

Now of course I am not asking him to report in on a daily or weekly basis. But after three weeks of no contact what so ever, it does make one wonder if he is fine or not. So all I can do is just wait and see what happens. It’s like I said before, he is in mourning and he will come around all in good time. After all sometimes one does need time alone.

I have gone through moments such as this and find that a little time to myself to regroup does help. So at this point all I can do is just wait and see what happens, and hope that he will reach out to say “hello” one day soon. And once he does reach out I am sure that we will have lots to catch up on. But during this time of waiting to hear from my friend, I do hope and wish he is fine and doing all the best that he can.

It’s moments like this that when you have a good friend that you have not heard from in a while, that when you do hear from them it feels like not weeks or months have passed, but a shorter amount of time. So with that said. I can say the following. “Take all the time you need to do what you need to do, and when you are ready to reach out just do so. And don’t worry about how long it takes.”

I will still be around, and so you too.

0 Responses to “MISSING IN ACTION.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,455 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

