16
Jul
10

A DAY SPENT AT THE 39TH ANNUAL INTERNATIONAL AFRICAN ARTS FESTIVAL.


Over the fourth of July weekend I have spent the day at the International African arts festival. http://www.iaafestival.org/ A yearly event held at Commodore Barry Park in Fort Greene Brooklyn. I had missed the event last year. But made it a point to check it out and explore it this year.

The event was three days of activities with live music, food, dance, and performances. An African market place, hair and fashion shows along with activities for children of all ages such as face painting and a kid’s talent show. The festival theme for this year was “Uhuru Sasa” freedom now.

Once I have arrived there and made a three dollar donation to enter I proceeded to explore the festival. My first thought about it was the fact that the event was very large. Commodore Barry Park in Fort Greene Brooklyn is a very large park, and every single free space was used. I actually found myself walking around the event more than once just to make sure that I have not missed anything.

The second thing that I have noticed was the interaction of the people there. Very friendly and more than willing to strike up a conversation with you, unlike a previous event that I have covered and posted on my blog where there was major attitude and people tried to avoid one another.

That was not the case at this event, no people with attitudes trying to avoid each other. Everyone was interacting and fully engaged as if they were old friends a very peaceful and relaxing event. Myself I do enjoy interactions with new people or just with people in general so on that aspect I did have a very good time.

Matter of fact when I was at the event I had worn my tee-shirt that has printed on the front and back of it my blog logo and website address. I have had quite a few people asking about my blog and what it was all about. After telling them that my blog is about me and my daily adventures in my life, along with my thoughts and “logic” on how things are in the world and from time to time covering events in and around the city such as this one. Most if not all wanted to know what it was like being a blogger and photographer. Some vendors even requested that I show case some of their work. Those details will be later in this post for there are a few that I have found very interesting and willing to make comments about.

The third and final thing that I have noticed was all the vendors selling their items. Some where selling items that you can say where “standard.” Such as tee shirts, paintings, bags clothes and so on. Then you had the vendors that were selling and promoting more exotic items. Such as items from Africa like mud cloths and wooden statues. At one point I felt that I was no longer in Brooklyn, but in a far away land within its local shopping district where people go to trade and barter for items.

Below are some of the photos that I have taken of the event, and photos of a few other “interesting” things that I have seen while I was there. On a side note I am more than willing to cover this event next year.

Below are photos and information of a few vendors that caught my attention.

Doba Afolabi this vendor was commissioned to do the artwork for this years event.

www.dobafolaby.com

Vendor Sophia Sylvester of Brooklyn Flavors. www.brooklynflavors.com

Vendor Sawkofa Khari. www.sakkdesigns.com and www.nothingbuttaylormade.com

0 Responses to “A DAY SPENT AT THE 39TH ANNUAL INTERNATIONAL AFRICAN ARTS FESTIVAL.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,477 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

