16
Apr
10

FRIDAY, THE END OF THE WEEK AND TIME TO REGROUP.


Another week is now coming to a close and after spending the week doing research on places for possible employment, and actually this week I have sent out quite a few resumes, more than in the past few weeks actually. Which to me might be a good sign, I now have to take a step back and regroup on what to do next.

Kind of like a game of chess, where after you make your move you wait for your competitors move and then strategize on what your next move will be. It’s kind of the same when it comes to job hunting. You have an idea on where you want to send your resume out to. But after that you have to plan the next step and process on where to go next.

One might try to concentrate on one type of industry one week and then branch out into other field the next week for example. Or even try a few new employment agencies to see what they might have to offer. Sounds more like hunting for fish or crabs. You try to put out the biggest net into the ocean just to see how many you can catch.

When I first became unemployed I use to scramble just about every day to look for work, even on weekends I would spend all my time looking for work. I still do but not as intense, granted it’s not because I have gotten lazy or frustrated. But now a days I try to focus, breathe and concentrate at the task at hand. The stress of looking for work has to be approached with minimal thought and care. For as we all know any type of stress can or could kill a person.

Is the process of looking for work frustrating? My answer is “yes, it is.” But I like many others must go on and search. That is why I try to take a step back when the weekend comes and I try not to think about it that much and actually plan my next move in looking for work. I feel that if I rush to look for work I might find a job that pays way to low and I would not be happy with.

It’s not pride that is holding me back from taking a job that is low in pay. But we all have a limit on how low we will go. After all we do have to take into account our living expenses. And after making cuts to one’s life style, you do have to also take into account how much money you need to function on a day to day basis, such as transportation, lunch, and paying bills and so on.

So weekends for me are very important to use as a time to focus and regroup. And in doing so you may just discover a new idea that might help you in your search for work, an idea that you might have missed if you had rushed through the same process.

Most of my friends ask me “How do I manage looking for work?” My answer is this… “When you feel that you are at a point that you feel that everything is closing in on you. That is when you need to walk away from the computer, Blackberry and just take a moment to yourself.” For when you rush and are in a panic, it could lead to errors that you might have not realized you have made. It’s always better to think things over and refocus at the task at hand.

0 Responses to “FRIDAY, THE END OF THE WEEK AND TIME TO REGROUP.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ARCHIVES

Categories

TWITTER UPDATES

Blog Stats

  • 34,455 hits

TOP RATED POST

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

CALENDAR

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

